losaezy.blogg.se

Matagorda flats fishing catamaran
Matagorda flats fishing catamaran









matagorda flats fishing catamaran matagorda flats fishing catamaran

The park’s picnic tables, outdoor showers and bathrooms are free and open to the public, too. From there, you can traipse across a wooden boardwalk over the dunes, then access the beach. If you’re into long walks on the sand, just park at Jetty Park, located at the very end of FM 2031.

matagorda flats fishing catamaran

(“Keep the tip up! Keep the tip up!”) A few minutes later, he uses a net to scoop a beautiful, 24-inch redfish out of the water.Ĭhris LeBlanc paddles a kayak along the Colorado River near Matagorda, Texas. I set the hook and start to reel it in, as Arrison coaches me along. I keep an eye on the orange bobber, and in less than five minutes, the first fish hits. So many redfish are swirling around in the shallows where we’re stopped that I can see the tips of their tails breaking the surface of the water.Īrrison casts just off a point of land, then hands the rod to me. I’ve never thought of myself as much of an angler, but when I got an invitation to spend a few days on the Texas coast casting for redfish, kayaking, and enjoying the beach, I didn’t hesitate. Ten minutes later, Peyton Arrison, the owner of Shells2Scales guiding service and the boat’s driver, readies the fishing gear. We slow to a putter just as the first orange smudge of sunrise appears on the horizon. We bank around a big corner in the inky, pre-dawn blackness, neatly avoid a half-submerged log, swoop into a reed maze and pop out, 30 minutes later, in a shallow saltwater lake. Pam LeBlanc photoĬlinging to a seat on a low-slung boat roaring through the twisting channels at the edge of Matagorda Bay, I feel like I’m in a video game. Anglers cast for redfish in Matagorda Bay, near Matagorda, Texas.











Matagorda flats fishing catamaran